DIY – First Hair Cutting Attempt

P1030840

This past weekend, I decided to take a major risk at cutting my own hair for the very first time. I have zero experience in cutting hair, I go to school for public relations for God sake! But I decided to do it anyway because I got so frustrated with not only the current state my hair is in, but also at the thought of looking for a professional hair stylist that will do the job.

Before

Fotor0922160151

This is how my hair looks before it went under the knife. I had a blunt cut with no layers, so everything is pretty much the same length throughout except for my bangs. It looks fine when I first cut it because it was way shorter a la Elin Kling. My hair has since grew out and the blunt cut totally wears my hair down. I desperately wanted layers, but I’m very picky when it comes to how I want my layers done, and several hair stylist in the past had failed to fully understand my request and preference.

Elin King - The inspiration for my previous hair cut

Elin Kling – The inspiration for my previous hair cut

Thus, I decided to take matters into my own hand. I figured, I paid attention during my past visits to the hair salon enough to kinda know how hair cutting works, or at least how to use hair cutting shears and thinners. Ballsy move, I know. I also looked up some YouTube videos on how to cut hair at home, but all I picked up from watching those videos are what NOT to do. The end results were not what I was expecting in the videos I watched. Do let me know if you came across any good videos for cutting hair at home!

So on to my DIY attempt! Viewer discretion is advised.

The evidence

P1030800

Here’s the after pictures!

Fotor0922155959

I’m really happy with how my hair turned out considering the fact that it’s my first time cutting it myself. I cut some layers to frame my face as well as some in the back to compliment my ombre better, though I was a little bit saddened that I had to trim off the lightest tips of my ombre to accommodate the layers, but I can always re-color it later. It definitely took a long time because I was going through some trial and error to see how best to cut the layers, such as at what angle and so on. I’m so glad with the results. Definitely no regrets!

How it looks when I curled it

P1030833

P1030836

So, will I ever go back to the salon? Probably… once in a while. Let’s just say that I’m soooo gonna save a lot of money from now on! Cheers!

9 thoughts on “DIY – First Hair Cutting Attempt

Leave a comment